Nominated, British Theatre Awards, Best New Play for Young People, Wind in the Willows, 2015

Nominated, Olivier Award for Best New Opera, The Firework Maker’s Daughter (libretto), 2014

Cholmondeley Prize in Poetry (£1000) from the Society of Authors, 2014

British Theatre Guide’s ‘Best Play on the Fringe’, for The Lifeblood,Edinburgh Festival 2004

Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize, 2004 (for The Nerve)

Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, 1999

Fellow of the Welsh Academy, 2000

E.M.Forster Prize, American Academy of Arts and Letters, 1997

Somerset Maugham Prize, Society of Authors, 1992

T.S. Eliot Prize Shortlist 1995, 1998, 2008

Forward Prize Shortlist, 1998, 2009, 2013

Whitbread Poetry Prize Shortlist, 1992, 1995

Eric Gregory Award, 1992

3rd Prize, National Poetry Competition, 1989